The Electric Drive Transportation Association (EDTA) and World Electric Vehicle Association (WEVA) today are pleased to announce the cities of Austin, Texas; Warsaw, Poland; and Bangkok, Thailand, are the recipients of the 2020 E-Visionary Award. EDTA and WEVA honor the leaders and stakeholders in these cities for their work to expand electric mobility and enhance environmental sustainability across their regions.

The E-Visionary Award is presented by WEVA and its members to cities and regions across the globe for promoting electric vehicles and making e-mobility a reality in their communities. WEVA is composed of the Electric Drive Transportation Association (EDTA) in North America, the European Association for Electromobility (AVERE), and the Electric Vehicle Association of Asia Pacific (EVAAP).

“The cities honored today are the leading edge of electrification and are building templates for action around the globe. The North American honoree, the City of Austin, Texas, is leading by example and is helping to realize, along with all E-Visionaries, an electric reality across the globe,” said Genevieve Cullen, president of the Electric Drive Transportation Association.

“Austin’s commitment to e-mobility is part of our DNA,” said Austin’s Assistant City Manager Gina Fiandaca. “We are proud to pioneer sustainable and innovative technologies with the supporting services that help make them accessible for everyone. Promoting electric shared scooters, bicycles, pedicabs, autonomous vehicles and more means a cleaner, healthier future for Austin.”

In previous years, E-Visionary Awards were presented during the closing plenary of the Electric Vehicle Symposium & Exposition (EVS) series – the EV industry’s premier global gathering that brings together academia, industry, and government to advance markets and technology. EVS33 was originally scheduled to take place over three days in June in Portland, Oregon, but was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In lieu of in-person presentations, awardees have submitted acceptance videos highlighting each city’s EV-related initiatives, which can be viewed below.

2020 E-Visionary Award Acceptance Video for the City of Warsaw, Poland

Featuring Warsaw Mayor Rafał Trzaskowski

2020 E-Visionary Acceptance Video for the City of Austin, Texas

Featuring Karl Popham, Manager of Emerging Technology & Electric Vehicles; Robert Spillar, Director of Austin Transportation Department; and StEVie, the EV-Loving T-Rex

2020 E-Visionary Award Acceptance Video for the City of Bangkok, Thailand